J. K. Rowling: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
by J.K. Rowling
narrated by Jim Dale
(YA, fantasy)

I have read HARRY POTTER AND THE PRISONER OF AZKABAN so many times… and yet I don’t think I’ve ever reviewed it. (I think the only one I’ve reviewed is the final book… that’s the only review a quick search turned up, anyway.) So, it’s about time I reviewed my favorite of the Potter books. (Side note: It is NOT my favorite of the Potter movies. They totally screwed it up, in my opinion, except for the casting. But that’s the subject of another blog.)

So. HP:POA is one of the two Potter books I have both in Hardcover and Audiobook. (When I worked at the library, I sometimes would tag donations that came in for the Friends of the Library BookSale, and then buy them at whatever price the volunteers set before the sale officially started. Both of my Harry Potter Audiobooks were these kinds of purchases.) This particular time I read it, I both listened to it, and read it, depending on whether I was driving or not. I liked having the ability to switch between the two formats, and since I’d listened to my audio copy enough times to be very familiar with the reader, I usually still heard Jim Dale narrating when I was reading the paper version. I do like his version of the narration. I believe there’s another narrator out there for the Potter books too, but I’ve never heard that one, so I can’t compare.

I find it hard to believe at this point that anyone reading this blog who plans to read Harry Potter hasn’t already done so, and as such I’m not at all worried about spoilers. If you are the rare person who wants to read the Harry Potter series, hasn’t, and is browsing book reviews about said series, you’ve been warned.

Why do I like this book the best of the series? Well, I think it’s perfectly situated between the more light-hearted tone of the first two and the darker aspects of the later books. Harry is still young enough that the angst isn’t too present (*cough*Book5*cough*), nor is the questionable romance. There’s plenty of pranks by the Weasley twins, and Remus Lupin and Sirius Black are great characters. I love that scene in the Shrieking Shack. (My favorite part of these stories is the action, comedy, and imagination. Can you tell? 🙂 )

Another thing I like about this book is watching the teachers seem more real. More human. They have more depth than I remember in books 1 & 2.

Yet another thing I like about this book is its length. It’s long enough that I feel I’ve gotten my money’s worth, but no so long that it hurts my back to carry it downstairs from the bookshelf on which it lives. I feel that, while the stories of books 4 on are still enjoyable, Rowling could have been better served by her editors. The books are too long, and could have stood having more of the unneeded bits removed to tighten up the stories and make them more enjoyable.

Anyway, I do love these books. And I also find it hard to read just one, so there may be more Potter book reviews in the future…

One thought on “J. K. Rowling: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Dark Shelf of Wonders

Delighting in my love of books one review at a time.

dinipandareads

living my best bookish life.

Jorie Loves A Story

A bookish library girl on a quest for literary enlightenment

Books Are The New Black

Book Reviews and Book Talk

Momsbookcollection

Where motherhood is my reality and Books are my vacation!

Words And Peace

Book reviews and good books for you to read

Hiking Reader

Adventures on the trails & in the books

Carole's Random Life

All things books!

Dear Geek Place

Changing my mind, one book at a time.

OneReadingNurse.com

Home of the Sunday Brunch Series and other bookish content!

Quenby Olson

Author of Multiple Books in Too Many Genres

onemoreorg.wordpress.com/

There's always room for one more...

bookforager

library lovin', backlist browsin', SFF reader...

Realms of My Mind

Musings on Books to Video Games and Everything In Between

My Book Joy

Joy in reading and life

Yarn, Books & Roses

life with a chronic disease and a really big yarn stash

Read! Bake! Create!

Sharing my love of books and food!

Snakes & Cranes

Knitting, sewing, gardening, and the occasional gluten-free recipe.

Knit One, Spin Too

My Personal Blog: Knitting, Spinning, Reading, Life

Quite A Yarn

Yarning about yarn