Lilian Jackson Braun: The Cat Who Saw Red

catwhosawredThe Cat Who Saw Red: Cat Who #4
by Lilian Jackson Braun
(cozy cat mystery)

I have been enjoying these books, though I enjoyed this one more than the first two in the series. (My used book store didn’t have #3, so I skipped that one.) I think a large part of the difference in my enjoyment was due to the gap in writing dates, when there were some societal changes that made this 4th book closer to my modern sensibilities. (The first two books, The Cat Who Could Read Backwards and The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern, were published in 1966 and 1967, respectively. This fourth novel was published in 1986.)

Whatever the case about my enjoyment of the novel, this also is a rather different murder mystery, since the murder isn’t fully acknowledged until the book’s wrap-up. It’s all suspicion and who believes what until that point. Very different from the usual murder mystery with its corpse(e) littering the floor. I enjoyed that aspect of it, but I’m glad the other books in the series which I’ve read followed the usual “it’s a murder because we found a body” development. This one was fun, but if done too often it would (at least with Braun’s style for this series) get really old.

I’m starting to be unsure how many of these books I will read. They’re amusing, but my main enjoyment of them is the cats. I don’t care nearly as much for the human characters. This is not to say that I dislike Qwill or the others. I just don’t like them as much as I like the cats. And as the humans feature more in the books than the cats do (and it’s a long series), I may only read the books whose plot summaries interest me most. We’ll see – though I do know I’m taking a break from the Cat Who books for a little while. I’ll visit KoKo and Yum-Yum more later.

~ by Nicole on June 26, 2017.

2 Responses to “Lilian Jackson Braun: The Cat Who Saw Red”

  1. Good luck with reading the series. I’ve finished them all and did reviews on I think 30 of them… A lot! Many are good. Some are so so.

Leave a Reply

 
