Carrie Fisher: Wishful Drinking

41yXpXWrgeL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Wishful Drinking
by Carrie Fisher
narrated by Carrie Fisher
(memoir)

Rating this book is hard, since it seems to be a written version of her stand-up show. It is very funny. If you imagine Carrie telling you these stories, it seems to work best. (This helps since I listened to her narrate the audio version.) If you try to read it as something with more substance than memoirs, you will be disappointed. Parts of the book do get deep, don’t get me wrong. But they’re deep in the memoir sense, not in a self-help or “high literature” kind of sense. (I make this note because of reviews I’ve seen where the readers seemed to think they were picking up a different kind of book than this is.)

Listening to Carrie narrate this book was also hard. There were a few moments (notably where she was talking about times when she had discussed her eventual death with younger friends) when I lost it. On the whole, though, it was a good tribute to a great person.

There was so much to Carrie’s life that I wasn’t aware of. This book did a great job of changing that for me. It’s going to be a while before I can listen to her narrate another book, though. I listened to The Princess Diarist a month after she passed (THAT one REALLY hurt), and I thought that enough time had elapsed now that this one would be okay. It still hurts. Though I will admit, it’s getting easier. And in this one, I did enjoy listening to her imitate her mother (Debbie Reynolds) as part of the narration.

She included a quote near the end of the book that she’d heard before: “Many of us only seem able to find Heaven by backing away from Hell.” That struck me as especially poignant, all things considered. RIP, Carrie.

~ by Nicole on June 20, 2017.

2 Responses to “Carrie Fisher: Wishful Drinking”

  1. God, I miss this wonderful woman ❤

    • Yes. She was a more wonderful person than many of us realized, and I’m heartbroken that it took her death for me (and many others) to realize how much good she was doing.

Leave a Reply

 
