Lilian Jackson Braun: The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern

7735951The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern: Cat Who #2
by Lilian Jackson Braun
(cozy cat mystery)

I enjoyed this book, but I did have a hard time taking parts of it seriously. Yes, being a cat mystery, I’ve suspended disbelief when it comes to the super-smart cat helping with the murder investigation. But I can’t easily get past the out-dated gender stereotypes, and the mustache getting credit for the main character’s intuition is getting annoying instead of charming.

On the other hand, I do enjoy the wide range of colorful characters portrayed in the novel (and the series), and the cats are wonderful. (Especially since we have now met Yum-Yum. The cats are the reason I first picked dup this series long ago – I’m a G&S fan, so having cats named Koko and Yum0Yum was irresistible.)

But, I did know who did it before it was revealed. (I just realized, though, one of the mystery aspects was only kinda explained. Hmm.) At least, I knew who did part of it. The other part wasn’t really related, but I was expecting it to be in order to tie things up neatly. (Instead things were tied up neatly on one front and quickly – therefore without much explanation – on the other front.) (Yikes, discussing the resolution of a murder mystery without spoilers is difficult!)

Anyway, it’s a solid story, though a bit dated, and it has awesome cats. It’s a solid three stars, but I don’t think I can give it more than that in the modern era.

~ by Nicole on May 30, 2017.

2 Responses to “Lilian Jackson Braun: The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern”

  1. Ha! I know what you mean. I really enjoy the series and read all 30+ of them from about 1998 to 2010. Towards the end, it got to be a lot! And now I’m going back to write up all the reviews, so sometimes… those cats put me over the edge. I did love the town of Pickax! Have you read the ones when he leaves “Down Below” and moves up to Moose County?

    • I don’t remember which ones I’ve read, honestly. I know that I started (years ago) with the later books, though, so it’s entirely possible I started reading the Moose County ones and then backed up to “Down Below” when I restarted the series from the beginning…

      On Wed, May 31, 2017 at 5:05 AM, Book-Wyrm-Reads wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

 
