Jules Verne: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

I can understand why Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea is considered a classic novel. It has that feel to it, and there’s no doubt that Jules Verne was an accomplished and imaginative author. However, can I just say how ANNOYING I find Professor Aronnax? He is supposedly a marine biologist, and yet asks some STUPID questions of Captain Nemo, things that a marine biologist should know! Yes, I realize that there are science facts and theories which I take for granted yet were not common (or known at all) at the time of this book’s writing. However, I can’t believe that a marine biologist would be so completely clueless about some aspects of his specific field of study.

Also, I think that an abridged version of this story would have been more enjoyable. It’s great knowing that the marine biologist and his assistant know all about the different classifications of fish. I DON’T NEED TO KNOW THEM when I’m reading a FICTION NOVEL. If I wanted to read about fish classifications, I’d read a non-fiction book.

This novel is nowhere near as enjoyable to read as Journey to the Center of the Earth was. (Though I did also have issues with that POV character.) Parts of it are enjoyable and fun. Other parts are tedious. And it’s a long enough book that the tedious parts really bog down my enjoyment of the story.

This one was a DNF. I’m only finishing the review here in order to keep a record of it.

~ by Nicole on May 26, 2017.

2 Responses to “Jules Verne: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea”

  1. I think of it as a historical artifact of little interest to the modern reader.

Leave a Reply

 
