Lilian Jackson Braun: The Cat Who Could Read Backwards

1194772._UY200_.jpgThe Cat Who Could Read Backwards: Cat Who #1
by Lilian Jackson Braun
(cozy & cat mystery)

This is quite an amusing book. I really enjoy seeing the start of the detective duo, Koko & Qwilleran. I can’t say that it’s my favorite cozy mystery, though, because parts of the style of it are a little dated. However, from what I’ve read, the author started this series and then took a hiatus before restarting the series. I enjoyed the later Cat Who books I read a lot, so I’m guessing that the early books will just feel a bit… older than the ones I’m familiar with.

But, don’t take this as dislike for the book. I really enjoyed it. It’s just not going on my keeper shelf, which is true of a lot of books I like reading. (The keeper shelf is reserved for books I love reading.) I’m giving it 4 stars, but those are a solid 4 stars.

There was one thing that I particularly enjoyed about the way this book was written. It’s a silly little thing, but I was thoroughly amused by the chapter titles being written backwards. Made me laugh every time I started a new chapter.

As to the story, I did enjoy it. I didn’t guess whodunnit, but I did feel that Qwill’s suspicions in Act Three were wrong, and that he didn’t have the right person figured for the murders. (I was right on that count, at least.) I’m not going to go into the plot much (you can Google that if you want to), but I did really enjoy the titular cat was worked into everything. Also, it certainly seems like the author had a Siamese cat. I have a cat who is part Siamese, and she exhibits some of the same traits (which none of my other cats have done). Especially the talking. Wow, that part of the book was accurate.

In any case, if you are a cat lover who reads mystery books at least on occasion, you owe it to yourself to read this book. Enjoy!

~ by Nicole on March 17, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
