Kelley Armstrong: A Darkness Absolute

darknessA Darkness Absolute: Rockton #2
by Kelley Armstrong
(contemporary fiction, thriller)

This is the second of the Rockton novels by Kelley Armstrong, and I do recommend reading it second. While you could read this one without having read the first one, you will miss a lot of backstory and character development. Also, there is the matter of spoilers for the plot of the first book if you read them out of order. (Not too many spoilers, but some.)

I did really enjoy this book. It was a lot of fun to read, and I finished it in under a week, with most of that week spent reading only on my lunch breaks. The pacing was good, the plot was good, and the characters behaved in a believable fashion. My biggest issue with the book was, I think, what my biggest issue with the whole series is going to be: you can never be quite sure when one of the characters is lying. But then, when you have a town made up entirely of people on the run from something, there’s going to be a lot of secrets or half-truths or outright lies. It didn’t hinder me from enjoying the book, but it did flavor my opinion of the characters.

One thing that should be mentioned with a review of this book are trigger warnings. Yes, it should be implied from the book jacket blurb that there will be some sensitive issues in this book. It starts with the main characters finding a girl who has been held captive and raped for over a year. And there is violence and murder. However, it was all handled very well by the author. Kelley Armstrong can write graphic scenes when she wants to. In this book, it seems she didn’t want to. A lot of things (such as the details of what happened to the kidnapped girl) are implied without being described in detail. The same is true of the violence – some of it is described, but a lot is implied instead. What it comes down to is this: it is a book that I can recommend to all except the most traumatized readers (who probably shouldn’t be reading this genre anyway).

I have heard that there are at least 2 more books in this series, which makes me happy. This is an enjoyable series, and I enjoy reading some of Kelley’s work in a different setting than the paranormal romance I first read (and loved) of hers. (I still love the Otherworld books, but variety is great too.)

~ by Nicole on March 2, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
