Elliott James: In Shining Armor

31539781-_uy200_In Shining Armor (Pax Arcana #4)
by Elliott James
narrated by Roger Wayne

On Goodreads, I determined that I would probably give this 4.5 stars if that was an option. The reason for the lower-than-stellar yet still-quite-good rating is because I really, really enjoyed the book. I liked getting to see more of the characters were already knew, and meeting new ones as well. What I didn’t like was the too-easy healing from massive wounds. Yes, that is part of being a werewolf. And yes, I know that we tend to skip over time in which the narrative character is not conscious. However, either too little time was taken to heal from various injuries (not once, not twice, but three times) or there wasn’t a good enough job done to convince me of the passage of time.

However, that – while a complaint and, I think, a valid one – was not enough to truly hinder my enjoyment of the book. This is a worthwhile installment of a good series, and I look forward to seeing where the series plot is going. I think I can catch a glimpse of it, but I’m not sure. I’ll need at least one more book to be sure (at least in part because Mr. James is very good at hiding twists within twists, so that you figure out one part of the puzzle and miss a second part hidden deeper within the same clue).

The book plot is simple enough to detail without spoilers. (The series plot isn’t, so I’m going to be fairly simplistic here.) Essentially, John Charming’s goddaughter was kidnapped, and it’s up to him (with the help of his Valkyrie lover Sig, some Templars, and some werewolves) to get her back and get revenge on whoever kidnapped her in the first place. There is magic, shooting, and fighting along the way. John will sometimes do something off camera so that the reader is taken by surprise along with the bad guys, which is a technique used often in this series. If you’ve gotten to book 4, you are familiar with it (whether or not you like it).

I enjoy this series. A lot. Is it perfect? No. But does it need to be? Also no. While it’s not my favorite series, it is one that I am quite happy with continuing. (And also recommending to family and friends whose reading tastes match mine.)

Rating: 4.5 stars

~ by Nicole on January 26, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
