Wen Spencer: Wood Sprites

51PB3Yr13fL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgWood Sprites: Elfhome book #4
2016 Book Challenge: a book with more than 500 pages

by Wen Spencer

This book is one that I’ve wanted to read for a while, but also didn’t. I LOVE the Elfhome series. But part of what I love is the main characters from the first book. I wasn’t sure what I would think of a book set in the same universe as those books but with completely different characters. And so it took me a while to buy the book, and then it took me a while to read it once I’d bought it. And even once I’d started reading it, it took me a while to start enjoying it.

Please note – that is entirely my fault. I started reading it wanting more of the Elfhome and elves and magic stuff that I’d gotten from the beginning of book 1 (Tinker). However, since Wood Sprites takes place on Earth, I didn’t get what I wanted. (At first, anyway. These things do show up later, but I’m trying to avoid major spoilers.) So I had the problem of wanting something that the book couldn’t provide, and until I allowed myself to enjoy what the book had to offer, I was a little annoyed at it.

Once I did start enjoying what the book WAS (instead of what I wanted it to be), I really enjoyed it. The main characters are twins who are the sisters of Tinker (the main character in the rest of the series), and they have the same intelligence and similar abilities as she does. They have the same habit of blowing things up (somewhat intentionally) for example. Also, they are involved in theatre at their school, so once they started talking about their school play I enjoyed that a lot too.

The basic, spoiler-free* plot of Wood Sprites goes like this. (*Note that it DOES have potential spoilers for the rest of the series. Feel free to skip this paragraph if you want to avoid those.) Jillian and Louise are twins who were born from the same stored fertilized eggs that were used to conceive Tinker. However, they were born much later, so while Tinker has just turned 18, the twins are 9. (This takes place at the same time as the events in Tinker. It’s fun to match the timelines up.) Shortly after they discover this, they learn more about their family history from items their biological mother left behind. The plot really starts to get fun when the twins learn that they can do magic, if they have a power source for it. And… beyond there lie spoilers.

I did greatly enjoy this book. And I will enjoy re-reading it again later. I think I will enjoy the re-read more, because I won’t be expecting the book to be something it’s not and will be able to enjoy it for what it is. Also, I will be highly anticipating book 5. I think I have a while before it comes out, but there’s a book of short stories I can enjoy in the meantime. (Project Elfhome. I want to pick up the paperback so that it matches the rest of the series, but it’s currently only out in hardback. I might not be able to wait that long.)

~ by Nicole on December 16, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
