Kelley Armstrong: City of the Lost

26114566._UY200_City of the Lost: Casey Duncan #1
by Kelley Armstrong
(contemporary fiction, mystery/thriller)

About the book: it’s fun. It’s a lot of fun. And there are twists, some of which you see coming and others which you don’t. It’s really hard to write this part of the review because I don’t want to give away any spoilers. The “mystery” part was accurate, I feel. It kept me guessing all the way to the end. It wasn’t as much of a thriller as I expected it to be, though. Maybe that’s because I’m used to Kelley’s writing style, but I’m not sure. (For the record, I feel that her Otherworld book HAUNTED definitely fits the bill for the thriller category.)

I enjoyed getting to know these characters, and I look forward to book 2 when I will get to read more about them. There were some predictable moments with the character development, but I still enjoyed reading them even though I knew they were coming. I will admit that the main characters did a couple of stupid but convenient-for-the-plot things, but at least they weren’t unbelievable stupid given that they were done in anger. We all do some pretty dumb things when we’re mad. Their stupid things just happened to serve to further the plot.

The setting was also interesting, and it was a neat look at how someone could theoretically hide a town in the forest somewhere. I’ll be interested to see if we get more of the town’s background in the next book(s) or not – it could happen, but isn’t necessary.

What about the plot? Well, talking about it would be getting into spoilers. Let’s just say that, given a fiction novel, it was believable and easy to follow. It was well-paced, as I have come to expect from Kelley. My only problem with it was that the pacing definitely picked up toward the end (as you would want, of course) and I found the book nearly impossible to put down. And I guess that’s not really a “problem” problem. It’s the kind of not-really-a-complaint that you make while grinning ear to ear.

~ by Nicole on August 19, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
