Kevin Hearne: Staked

61s9Za+blKL._SL300_.jpgStaked: Iron Druid Chronicles #8
by Kevin Hearne
narrated by Luke Daniels

I enjoyed this book, but I find myself hoping that the series ends soon. I still like the characters, but I’m ready for the series arc to be over. I would, in some ways, be happier if the Iron Druid Chronicles ended, and a new series took its place. I guess it’s selfish, but I want the series to finish while I’m still enjoying it.

As you can tell from the title, this book is essentially Druids vs. Vampires. And it’s mostly action, with only a few humorous moments. Fortunately, we do get sections with both wolfhounds being silly, but nothing near as silly as Oberon was in the first couple books. It was good to see some of the characters from early in the series return, but I won’t go into who in case you don’t want spoilers. There were sad moments too, but again I’m not spoiling that.

In general, I feel that this was a good installment in the series, but almost that it was a stepping stone to the endgame. Yes, it had a distinct book plot separate from the series plot. It was well written, has good characters, etc. But it still partly felt like something that had to be done to get us where we need to be for the final battles with Loki.

I really can’t say much of anything about the plot without getting into major spoilers, so I won’t. However, if you are reading this series mostly for the humor instead of the plot or character development, then savor the part with Nigel in Toronto at the beginning, because humor mostly comes in one-liners once the book gets going. There is a lot of plot and character development going on to fill the gaps, though. LOTS going on. I do enjoy the bits of Granuaile’s character development especially. But this is a darker book than many in the series, and not just because they’re fighting vampires at night.

Anyway, I still enjoy the books. And I especially enjoy the narration. Luke Daniels does a great job of keeping all of the characters distinct, and even manages to be understandable when he’s switching between accents. I am glad I started out with this series on Audible. It adds a lot to the enjoyment factor for me.

~ by Nicole on July 29, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
