Seanan McGuire: An Artificial Night

cover_aanAn Artificial Night: October Daye #3
by Seanan McGuire
(urban fantasy)

This is the third book in the October Daye series. Like the prior books, this one deals with Toby getting herself into trouble. And as usual, the trouble is not initially of her own making, but she causes it to be more trouble than it started out as. Parts of this book were rather predictable (unlike its predecessor which left me guessing a lot more), but that didn’t make it any less enjoyable. I loved getting to see more depth to the old characters, and getting to meet new characters too. It will be interesting to see how much of the new characters we get to see in future books.

Without getting too spoilery: the trouble in this book is that the leader of the Wild Hunt has kidnapped the children of some of Toby’s friends. They as her to bring the kids back, so off she goes, even though it’s into some nightmarish lands facing one of the most powerful fae alive. (No one is surprised. Even though she hasn’t yet admitted it, everyone else – from the reader to the characters sending her on the mission – know she’s a Hero with a capital H.)

One of my favorite parts about this novel is the way nursery rhymes are used. I didn’t know all of them (and I suspect some of them may have been made up, or at least modified, for the purposes of the story). Still, I love seeing how authors use things we take for granted as “normal” and turn them into something different and magical.

I will certainly be continuing this series. I love the character development and the plots of the books. My only complaint is that once I get about 1/3 of the way through, I have a VERY hard time putting the books down. Makes it hard to get back to work, since I do a lot of my reading on my lunch breaks at the office…

~ by Nicole on May 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
