Sharon Shinn: The Truth-Teller’s Tale

9351140The Truth-Teller’s Tale: Safe Keepers #2
by Sharon Shinn
(fantasy, YA)

This was an amusing tale of two mirror twin sisters who are mirrors of each other in personality as well as in appearance. I realized after reading the book that it was the second in a series (and I haven’t yet read the first) but that didn’t hinder my enjoyment of the story at all. I do plan on reading the first book as well, because I’m curious to see more of this world. (Info about the books can be found here.)

For a quick look at the basics of what makes this fantasy world different than others, is that there are three kinds of special people in the world: Safe-Keepers, who will keep your secrets; Truth-Tellers, who only tell the truth; and Dream-Makers, who can make your wishes come true. One of the two sisters in this story is a Safe-Keeper, and the other is a Truth-Teller. The book follows them as they grow up and learn how to use their gifts. One of the things that I liked about the story was watching what happened when various townspeople would mistake one sister for the other. That could be lots of fun.

This is probably meant as a YA novel, given the age of the main characters. However, I had no problems reading it as an adult. It was still quite an enjoyable read. There were hints of things that I picked up on – either because the author intended them to be implied, or because I have an adult’s experience instead of a teen’s – but nothing that hindered my enjoyment of the story. There are hints of romance, and some mention of rough treatment, but no actual descriptions. I think this would be safe for readers of all ages who are up to the vocabulary.

I really enjoyed the world and the characters. Sharon Shinn is one of my current favorite authors, and she didn’t disappoint with this one. The secondary characters might not have developed as much as the main characters did, but there was still growth there. I do recommend this book (and probably the series, though I’ll have to get back to you on that front). It wasn’t a difficult read for me, more along the lines of a summer beach read, but it was still completely enjoyable. I think this is one of those books that you can read depth of meaning into if you like, but said meaning is not forced upon you and you can also treat is as a purely pleasure read if that’s your preference.

~ by Nicole on September 25, 2015.

One Response to “Sharon Shinn: The Truth-Teller’s Tale”

  1. […] is the first book in the series, though I read it after having read the second book, THE TRUTH-TELLER’S TALE. There were some spoilers involved with having read the books in this order, so even though it’s […]

Leave a Reply

 
