Seanan McGuire: Discount Armageddon

 Discount Armageddon (InCryptid #1)
by Seanan McGuire
(urban fantasy, paranormal)

I picked up this book because I happened to be in Barnes & Noble and had just finished McGuire’s INDEXING. So I was curious about her other work (though I own ROSEMARY & RUE and haven’t read it yet) and I looked at the shelf to see what else they had. Well, I found this one, the first book in a series that I didn’t own, and it sounded like a fun read. I picked it up, and started it when I got home, and thoroughly enjoyed the read.

The basic premise has been done before and will be done again. There are paranormal critters alive and well, and some group of people is out there protecting us from them (and them from us). That’s fine, I can deal with reading a new take on an idea I’ve seen before. And this was a fun take! For one, the two main characters in the book are human, instead of paranormal. They have been trained to deal with the paranormal, sure, but they are human. (Many times when this is done, at least one of the main characters is a paranormal race of one kind or another.)

Anyway, I greatly enjoyed McGuire’s take on the interactions between the human and cryptid (aka paranormal) worlds. I liked that the two main characters managed to work together on a common goal at times even though their main goals were the exact opposite. I liked the characters, period. Large and small, they all seemed well developed. (And the smallest were some of the most fun: I LOVE the mice. I suspect you will too. Yes, you. All of my readers.)

The plot also fit well within the world. It was believable within the world that McGuire built. All told, this was an excellent book, and I plan to continue with the series. I think I just may have found a new favorite author.

~ by Nicole on May 15, 2015.

One Response to “Seanan McGuire: Discount Armageddon”

  1. This looks interesting…

Leave a Reply

 
