Anne McCaffrey: Dragonsinger

Dragonsinger (Harper Hall Trilogy, Book #2)
by Anne McCaffrey
(fantasy, YA)

This is the second book of the Harper Hall trilogy, and possibly my favorite of the three. I love the antics the harpers get into, and watching Menolly develop as a character. Now that I know so many theatre people, it’s taken on another level of enjoyment, since I can recognize bits of the theatrical personality types in many of the characters. Very fun.

I also greatly enjoy reading the events of the main Dragonriders of Pern trilogy happen from another point of view. I feel these books are best read all at the same time to get the best enjoyment out of each of them. (This is probably one reason why I have a hard time reading just one of the Pern books. There’s so much more depth to the story when you read them ALL TOGETHER.)

One thing I didn’t notice while reading these books as a teen was how they really are geared toward teens. The main characters are all younger people, and they have many of the concerns that young people have. Fitting in, making a place for yourself, figuring out what you want to do in life… all things that I was dealing with when I initially read these books. They are still enjoyable for adults, though. I used to complain when I saw them put in with YA books, but now I completely agree. It’s not that they have no hard subjects, but that they approach these hard subjects from a teen’s perspective. And they manage to do that without talking down to anyone, which is a mark of McCaffrey’s talent in my book.

~ by Nicole on August 30, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
