Stephen Cole: Doctor Who – Feast of the Drowned

Doctor Who: Feast Of The Drowned
by Stephen Cole
narrated by David Tennant
(contemporary fantasy, Dr. Who, time travel)

I picked up this audiobook because it was the Audible Daily Deal, and so was a good price. I’m glad I got it there, instead of at full-price, because it’s a short book. Novella-length, probably. However, that shorter length – combined with the fact that it was read by David Tennant – made it feel like an episode of the TV show instead of a book.

About the plot: it works as a TV episode. I would have believed it was a novelized version of a TV episode, were it not for the fact that I have seen all of the new Who episodes, and this wasn’t one of them. However, I don’t think it would have worked as well as a book that wasn’t a part of a series already. The only people who will be picking this up to read are people who already know what Doctor Who is. People who have met Rose and Mickey, and who don’t need any explanation for why the Doctor talks about “you humans”. If anyone unfamiliar with the series WERE to pick this up, they would shortly put it down again, because there is little to no explanation of the world of Who.

My favorite part, as I fully expected, was the narration. Since this was a 10th Doctor story, there is no one better to narrate it than David Tennant. And he does a great job of it. Naturally he reads The Doctor flawlessly. And the narration of the non-dialogue is also great, as I would have expected from an actor of his caliber. But he gets the other voices down, too. Rose isn’t as perfect, but she’s read well enough to be recognizable. Mickey, however, SOUNDS LIKE MICKEY. And later, an American shows up, and the accent is great.

So – will I be buying other Doctor Who novels? Probably not in book form, but maybe in audiobook form, as long as they are read by the Doctor in question. And it also depends on the price… There are other novellas that I wanted to listen to, but bought the ebook instead of the audiobook because the pricing on the ebook was more reasonable. Don’t get me wrong, I do realize that there are more production costs behind an audiobook than an ebook. You have the narration, the editing of the audio as well as the text, etc. But I still have a hard time paying the price of a full-length (7-10 hours, say) audiobook for one that clocks in at 2.5 hours. Even if it’s an enjoyable 2.5 hours.

~ by Nicole on August 16, 2014.

2 Responses to “Stephen Cole: Doctor Who – Feast of the Drowned”

  1. Thanks for the review! I haven’t listened to make of the DW audiobooks, mostly because I’m working my way through the audio plays, but I’m interested in listening to them at some point, so it’s nice to hear what other people think about them.

    If you get the chance to get it as a deal, I highly recommend “Dead Air,” another DW audiobook narrated by David Tennant. It’s not available in book form – it was written with the audiobook format in mind, and it is fantastic. The antagonist is sound-based, so there’s little you have to do with your visual imagination to make it scary and thrilling (and in fact, a good part of it is set in total darkness). Mr. Tennant does the narration and voices brilliantly. And there’s quite a nice twist at the end.

  2. I got this Free with the Radio Times a few years back, it’s Okay……my personal choices are from the classic era – Peter Davidson as the Doctor and Tegan, Nyssa and Turlough as the companions. Oh and The Light at The End

Leave a Reply

 
