Rolly Crump: More Cute Stories V. 4 ~ 1964/65 New York World’s Fair

I’ve reviewed all of the other volumes in the MORE CUTE STORIES audiobooks here, so I want to continue the trend and review More Cute Stories, Vol. 4: 1964/65 New York World’s Fair.

First off, let me reiterate that I love hearing these stories from Rolly himself. Reading his book (It’s Kind of a Cute Story) was fun, but it’s more fun to me to get to hear his words in his own voice.

As to the stories themselves, they’re a lot of fun to hear. I didn’t know much about the 1964-1965 World’s Fair before this, beyond the parts that most Disneyland fans know. For example, I knew that it’s a small world debuted at the World’s Fair, and that the Carousel of Progress did, and I’ve ridden both of those after they got brought back to Disneyland. (I remember CoP from the Walt Disney World version, though; I don’t know if I ever went on the Disneyland version before it got turned into America Sings.)

However, I knew little to nothing about the Ford pavilion. I had read about the auto parts orchestra in Rolly’s book, but that was it. I loved learning more about it (and for those who want to learn even more about it, listen to this Communicore Weekly episode. I listened to that just after the audiobook, and it goes into greater detail because Rolly wasn’t a part of the whole thing.)

It was really neat listening to Rolly’s experiences in New York, too, and the time he spent with Mary Blair. We’d just come back from seeing the Mary Blair art exhibit at the Walt Disney Family Museum in San Francisco, so hearing the history about some of the pieces we’d seen on exhibit was really cool.

These recordings aren’t very long (I don’t remember the exact info, but around an hour each), but for Disney history fans they are very worth it. I’ve talked with Jeff (co-author of IT’S KIND OF A CUTE STORY and the person helping Rolly with these recordings) about this project before, and we agree that it’s important to get these first-hand tellings of the stories out there while we still have the chance.

~ by Nicole on July 6, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
