Maggie Sefton: Close Knit Killer

Close Knit Killer (Knitting Mysteries #11)
Maggie Sefton
(mystery)

Unlike in the prior book in this series, I didn’t know whodunit. I did know who-didn’t-dunit, but it was nice to be a little surprised as to the real culprit. So in that respect, I liked this book better than some in the series. (A little mystery is good in a murder mystery.) In other respects, though, it didn’t hold my interest as much as it could have. Perhaps because I had just read #10, or perhaps because a series (ANY series) can only go on for so long and keep me interested. I’m not sure why. But I did find myself skimming over sections of this book, which is unusual for me with such a quick read.

I found it interesting that Sefton used the real-life fires in this book. (Spoiler alert?) Granted, she’s been using the real recession for nearly the whole series. But that’s a very general real-life scenario. It was interesting that she used something more specific – and that would show you a little of what her fiction landscape translates to in real Colorado – in the series. I don’t know if I like it, or not. In some respects I want my fiction to tie in to real life, but I’m not always sure. I’m also not positive I like having a cliff-hanger in a cozy mystery book.

Anyway. Will I read the next book? Maybe. I don’t know. It’s been a while since I read book #9, and it was even longer since I’d read #8. So when #12 comes around (which we know it will due to the cliff-hanger) I may pick it up. Or I may wait some few years. Or I might skip it entirely. We’ll have to see how I feel at the time. I can tell you that, enjoyable as I find this series, I’m just about done with the world. And that’s no reflection on Sefton’s writing – I get sick of even my favorite writers when they stick to the same world and same characters.

~ by Nicole on March 31, 2014.

One Response to “Maggie Sefton: Close Knit Killer”

  1. […] will admit it: ever since I read my first of Maggie Sefton’s Knitting Mysteries, I have been a sucker for the style. I’ve been trying to find another […]

Leave a Reply

 
