Stephanie Pearl-McPhee Casts Off

Stephanie Pearl-McPhee Casts Off: The Yarn Harlot’s Guide to the Land of Knitting
Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
(knitting humor)

This is the third (I think) book of the Yarn Harlot’s that I’ve read, but the first that listened to instead of reading myself. I’d been meaning to read all of them, because her humor is something that a knitter can really appreciate (and it makes us feel less alone in the world to know that there are other people out there who understand why dropped stitches can result in the need for a drink). However, I’d never considered LISTENING to one until I was browsing random books on Audible and noticed that she had a couple of audio books.

Anyway, back to the audio book review. First off, the reason I listened to this one is because it is narrated by the author. That was a real treat. It was a pleasure to listen to Stephanie tell her own jokes, since she can obviously put the emphasis where she wants it. There was no question if this was the author’s intent, as there sometimes is when listening to an audio book.

The book itself was fun as well. (Well, it was fun for a knitter. It would probably also be fun for someone who loves a knitter, even though lots of the jokes would be over that person’s head.) I greatly enjoyed it, at any rate. I will probably listen to more of Stephanie’s books, as the combination of the humor and having her do her own audio was priceless. It was almost like I’d been able to attend one of her speaking events, though I’ve yet to have that pleasure.

If you are a knitter, or looking for a gift to give your knitter, this – or her other titles – would be a good choice.

~ by Nicole on July 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
