Kelley Armstrong: Bitten (second review)

This is a re-review of this book, written for Moonlight Gleam’s Reading Challenge.

Bitten (Women of the Otherworld #1)
Kelley Armstrong
(paranormal romance)

It should come as no surprise that this is not the first time I have decided to review Bitten. What is odd is that the first time I reviewed it, I posted very little in the way of opinion in the review. So, this time around, I’m not going to focus on the plot and instead just concentrate on my feelings towards the book.

It should be noted that I did not start the series with this book. I started with the third in the series, Dime Store Magic, which has a different narrator (and therefore different love interest). This is probably a really good thing, as I didn’t actually like Clay (the love interest in Bitten) all that much, especially at the beginning of the story. He acts way too obsessive and stalkerish for my liking. Come to think of it, Elena (the heroine) isn’t really my cup of tea, either.

The story starts with Elena trying to fit in to the human world, but not really being happy there, and then going back to the werewolf Pack and trying to pretend that she’s NOT happy with them. Honestly? That DROVE ME NUTS. It makes for good conflict and good fiction, but I could not relate to it. Especially reading it this time around.

There were plenty of times when Elena and Clay weren’t annoying me, however, and I enjoyed those parts of the book very much. And to be fair, Kelley has since written novellas that explain a lot about why these two characters are the way they are. (Since this was the first thing written in the Otherworld, however, early readers didn’t have Savage or Becoming to reference as a character study.)

As to the rest of the Pack… I really like Jeremy. That’s something that has never changed. I like Nick and ‘Tonio more than I originally did, too, but my second favorite of the wolves (with Jer being my favorite) is still Logan. Sadly, Logan is someone whose personality you don’t get to see in Bitten. You’ll have to read Becoming in order to get any clue to that.

~ by Nicole on March 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
