Marie Brennan: Doppelganger

Doppelganger
by Marie Brennan
(fantasy)

Edited to add: this book has since been republished under the title “Warrior.”

So over the weekend I finished up a book I’ve been meaning to read for at least a year now. It was a very fun read, too: DOPPELGANGER by Marie Brennan.The best part about waiting to read a book is this: the sequel’s already out, and I don’t have to wait for it to be published. ;)

Anyway, the book sounded interesting and had been recommended to me, so I bought it. And then I decided that, based on the back cover, I knew what was going to happen. So I delayed reading it. And delayed. When I did pick it up about a week ago, I had determined that I didn’t care if I knew what the ending would be, because I still wanted to read it, even if my hopes weren’t very high.

I was wrong.

Well, not entirely. I did still have a very close idea how the ending would work out, even if I got some very critical details wrong. (That was a nice change, actually. Not only is the way it’s written much better than the ending I had been expecting, but it’s nice to get a twist like that to an ending that you’ve been predicting.)

And I was also not wrong in my initial thought of “this looks like a fun book.” It is a fun book. Very much so. (Ooh, and there wasn’t any obligatory romance in it! Very nice change.)

I do recommend this one. It was a very enjoyable read.

~ by Nicole on April 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
