Shana Abé: The Dream Thief

The Dream Thief
by Shana Abé

(fantasy, historical romance)

I love this book. I love this series. I love this author.

There. Fangirliness out of the way. This book was, in my opinion, slightly less magical than the first book in the series, The Smoke Thief. However, that is not due to anything lacking in this book, merely the pure magic of the newness of the first one. Sequels always lose something of the surprise that comes with meeting a new world with new ideas and characters. The magic of this book was still quite sufficient. And I love it.

For the disclaimers, it does have sex scenes, and if you don’t like them you might not like the book. However, they were nicely done scenes, and there was none of the “the plot is only how I get from one steamy scene to the next” feeling that you get in some novels. The plot and characters and motivation were all nicely developed in this book.

I’m just amazed it took me this long to read this book. But hey – it means the third one will be out before I know it.

EDIT: I just realized that I said nothing of the plot. It follows Zane, who you may know from the first book, and Amalia, Kit and Rue’s daughter. They travel (for various reasons) to the continent (from England) to track down a diamond that has the ability to control the drakon. Zane, however, doesn’t know anything about this diamond’s powers, because Lia – who dreams of the future – is scared that if she tells him, her dreams will come true…

~ by Nicole on December 26, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
