Lynn Viehl: If Angels Burn

If Angels Burn
by Lynn Viehl
(urban fantasy, romance)

I enjoyed If Angels Burn, in part because I knew (to an extent) what I was getting in for. I read it for a book club, and was told before I read it that it was more dark fantasy than paranormal romance. So I expected dark going in. However, there are a few sections that, when I re-read the book, I will probably skip. They’re just that side of too dark for me. But – there aren’t enough of those sections (1, maybe 2) for me to get rid of the book and never read it again.

I liked the treatment of some of the characters in this book a lot, though they were mostly the supporting cast and not the main characters. I also liked the variation on the vampire myth. Vampirism has been presented as a virus and as a curse before, but Viehl takes these and combines them in a way that I want to watch her explore further.

The plot, I felt, was fairly average. Very few of the actions in the story surprised me, yet for the most part I did enjoy the pacing of the story. The ending was a tad confusing… but as this is the first in a series of at least three, I have hopes that my confusion will be cleared up. (The next three Darkyn books, Private Demon, Dark Need and Night Lost have already been released.)

I will definitely keep this book, and re-read it. I will also buy the next in the series, and keep reading as long as my enjoyment overshaows the darkness of the books. But I will only recommend it to those people who know what they’re in for, and want it. For them, this book is a must buy. For those who don’t like their fantasy this dark, I have some other books you might enjoy instead.

~ by Nicole on August 20, 2007.

One Response to “Lynn Viehl: If Angels Burn”

  1. […] feeling. My one warning is that there are similarities between “A Rush of Wings” and Viehl’s “If Angels Burn,” so if you had trouble with the one, you might not enjoy the other. However, I truly enjoyed this […]

Leave a Reply

 
