Kelley Armstrong: Industrial Magic

Industrial Magic – Women of the Otherworld #4
by Kelley Armstrong
(urban fantasy, paranormal romance)

This is my absolute favorite of the Women of the Otherworld series. Paige and Lucas are my favorite characters, and I love the interplay between them in this book. There’s also less of Savannah, who drives me nuts. There is also lots of humor (including some fun genre-insider humor about vampires in New Orleans) and yet emotional depth. Very good all-around book.

What more is there to say about it? I can’t comment on the writing technique throughout the whole book, as I usually read it fast enough that I wouldn’t notice much. (Even after re-reading it several times in its entirety, I devour this book.) However, there is one section that stood out as a particularly good example of how to do confusing dreams/flashbacks. I have this section referenced in my own writing notebook for when I do a flashback section of my own that I want to be confusing.

~ by Nicole on August 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
