J.K. Rowling: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
by J.K. Rowling
(fantasy, YA)

(NO SPOILERS.)

Right… so this is the last of the Harry Potter books. The epilogue, which I think was unneeded for the story and which doesn’t really fit the tone of this particular book, does tie up Harry’s story nicely with a sense of finality. There will be (Rowling has said) no further Harry Potter books, and the epilogue proves it.

Was it worth the wait? Yes. She tells a good story (I’ve said before and I’ll say again that I’m not going into her writing style and technique) and manages to create engaging characters. She is good about having a new plot for each book, rather than continuing one plot through several books. (Book 6 was the weakest, plot-wise, but it did still have its own plot.)

Did I cry? No. Not even close. Not because there wasn’t anything tear-worthy, but because the way it was written didn’t move me to tears. (Reading while ill may have helped this, too.) The movie, I suspect, will make me cry. But that’s another story.

I thought this was a nice ending to the series, and answered all the questions I could have hoped for. There is still room to move in the wizarding world, and we may get more stories about secondary characters in the future, but this is a nice end to this series. It’s hard to know what else to say without giving anything away (which I refuse to do). But I can say that this is quite likely my second favorite of the books now. Book 3 has always been (and will always be) my favorite of the Potter books, but this one is nicely done as well.

~ by Nicole on August 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
