Eve Ensler: The Vagina Monologues

The Vagina Monologues
by Eve Ensler
(non-fiction)

I read this book because my boyfriend wanted to discuss it with me. I had seen it (and the video of the performance) on the library shelves for a long time, and always avoided it. I figured that it would be written merely for the shock value, that the whole point would be to see how many times “vagina” would show up in the book.

I am pleased to report that I was – partly – wrong. There is a shock value to the book, and after reading the introduction I understand why. There is still much sexual repression and misunderstanding, and the author wants to change that. However, I was expecting a more graphic and, well, icky book. This is well done, with enough shock to get the point across, and yet not so much that I was ever tempted to stop reading. It’s almost poetry.

I would rate this a good read, though not a must read. I plan to watch the (taped) performance as well, as I think that it might be better seen than read.

~ by Nicole on August 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
